Egret Rookery

Egret

The egret is a gregarious bird by nature so their nesting sites are often found in large trees or groups of trees. Big trees are a favored communal rookery location, and islands are especially popular for these nesting birds.

Egret-2

These nesting sites are an excellent opportunity for photographers to photograph nests, but it is important to avoid disturbing the birds by keeping one’s distance. That is why my shots are from afar. You can even see a few birds take flight, which I was trying to avoid.

Rookery

Above and below, a tree is filled with lots of egrets. I only had a small Nikon P510 along on this trip to St. Lucia, so I had no telephoto lens to use. Carolyn and I were standing on a busy road so it was also not a place to set up a shot. In front of us was drainage ditches and marshy land. Egrets do like wetlands, although this is the arid part of the island. Next post I will show you how arid by what is growing.

Rookery-2

Egrets also like to hang around horses and are much easier to approach from a photographic standpoint. They are common in fields following the horses and foraging in the manure.

Egret-3

They forage for seed as they follow the horses and cows around waiting for the next meal to drop. I think I have to add a “yuck” to this activity.

Egret-4

10 thoughts on “Egret Rookery

  1. Donna, I don’t know if this post went out to your Green Apple subscribers (I wasn’t one before today), but I’m glad you posted the link to this at GWGT. I KNOW you have mentioned this other blog of yours before, but I’m glad I finally visited–another venue for your excellent photos and narrative.
    –John

  2. Lovely blog. But I all the egrets I saw i your pictures were cattle egrets. They are stockier then snowy egrets, have heavier yellow, not black bills, and have greyish legs, not black with yellow feet. And they don’t have the long breeding feathers of the snowy. When these birds are in full breeding plumage, they will have rusty orange spots on their heads and backs.

    They eat land bugs and are often found sitting on cows, down here in Texas. And when someone mows a field, they often swarm behind the tractor. But they do breed in rockeries, usually on wooded islands, with other herons and egrets.

    These birds are from Africa, but a small flock of them were carried to Florida by a hurricane in the 40’s. They have spread far and wide and most Texas ones winter in Mexico. I still see a few of them along the Texas coast each winter.

Leave a Reply

