Maine Fauna

These are some of the animals, insects and birds I saw when I was visiting Maine. I am pretty sure I saw for mere seconds, a Bald Eagle in flight, but could not photograph it. I could not focus the camera that quickly.  I also saw a porpoise, and did get a clear photo, but only of it as it dove underwater. When it surfaced again, it was very far away. So here you will see the animals I did capture, although many were very far away too.

These images were all done in Photoshop to prepare for the web. I created an action to automate the process. Go to Window > Actions to access the panel. Click the folder icon at the bottom of the panel to create and name an action. Then, press the circle at the bottom of the panel to start to record an action. Do everything to the image that you will want on subsequent images. Press the square to stop recording the action. It will be saved in the Actions Panel for future use.

What is a bit unique here is the cinematic sizing of each. The action I created makes each image 12.111 inches wide by 5.388 inches high at 300 ppi, and saves it to a folder named Cinematic Sizing. But the action continues to make a second copy.

Next, the action resizes for the web, which reduces it to 10 inches wide at 72 ppi. Then it is saved again to a different folder named Web Images. I end up with two sizes of an image with the same name.

This way, if I need a large image to print, I still have it. I still have another automated trick up my sleeve that I will save for another post. It is creating a droplet in Photoshop. This allows me to perform an action on a folder of images, not one by one like in this post. Why I did not use it here was all editing, other than cropping, was different. A droplet quickly makes all images have the same actions and saves them to a designated folder, like I explained above.

Come along as I photograph the animals.

One had to be observant and patient to see many of them.

Unfortunately, many were too far away and I was on a rocking boat. This makes photographing difficult for all but seasoned photographers. The seals, seeing us observing them, took to the water immediately. See the ducks? I did not see them at first.

The Osprey above was very far away, and I zoomed in as far as I could with the 300mm lens. This nest had to be at least five feet wide. The bird is rather large too.

Now is this frog not cute poking out through the duckweed?

Here the Osprey returns to the nest.

The seals that were on the beach in a previous image found us very curious. They really kept their distance though.

Many dragonflies were all over in Maine. I had no problem finding them, but again, had a hard time getting in very close.

This is a young buck on Cliff Island below.  I got many photos of him. I believe he thought I could not see him, because when he finally understood I was looking at him, he took off running like they always do. He was not very close either, making me wish I brought the very heavy 400mm lens and tripod.

He has the cutest little antlers and big white tail. A really tall deer, about the size I remember from PA, he stood motionless. I could not believe he stood in the open. This is about where I saw the eagle too, at the narrow end of Cliff Island. The eagle was only passing over the island, carrying its prey of groundhog or rabbit. It was a really large animal and the fur was gray/brown.

6 thoughts on “Maine Fauna

  1. That’s awesome you saw so much wildlife there! We are supposed to have quite a few Bald Eagles at a lake not too far from here – when I get the chance I want to hike up there to an observatory point they have and see if I can spot any. That would be so great to catch a glimpse of one!
    I actually love the bottom picture of the toad – he looks like he is made out of metal with his coloring.

Leave a Reply

