That’s My Bagel, Buddy

These images were not taken with any special care, but watching the seagulls is quite amusing. Like I mentioned in the previous post on Canada Geese, the kindhearted tourists are always dispensing handouts to the winged beggars.

It is not a good thing to do for the health and well-being of these creatures as I said on a Garden Walk Garden Talk post, Ducks Over the Falls, but it happens frequently.

In the parking lot, someone threw out bagels for the seagulls. Not a favorite bird to have visit, but one that is always hungry. Most come flying in like little devils, but some glide in like an angel on the wing.

Some walk in, having the advantage of stealth. None of them would let me near them and I was not prepared to shoot birds today. They even dropped the prize when I moved in closer.

Many do the air attack on their brethren.

There are winners…

And losers.

And some are driven off repeatedly and cast the evil eye.

But some, have a mean-spirited battle, all over a stale bagel. I can tell you, I would be afraid of that open gaped mouth if I was their size.

11 thoughts on “That’s My Bagel, Buddy

  1. Not my favorite because they are fed by humans. That’s why they can attack you if you have food on a beach…remember it not so fondly from childhood. they are amazing creatures as long as we leave them alone…great candid shots…

  2. I remember your advise on not feeding them bread. There are lots of ducks nearby which are in a gated property. I managed to get some photos of them recently but also found out that many people fed them bread. It was good to find corn grains scattered there too.

    The first image is gorgeous!

  3. I can completely relate to having an opportunity to get some shots and not having the right equipment along. That being said, your captures are really great! Although not a bird most people want hanging around I do find their antics amusing to watch and you captured them well!

  4. Quite funny to see them fight over the bagel. Such characters! I sure wouldn’t want any of them to come after me!
    A park nearby sells corn to feed to the ducks – that is more fun as they don’t usually attack from the air 🙂

  5. Absolutely amazing pictures! And both this and your previous post (which I did go back and read) are full of terrific info for folks like us who live with gulls. We are right on the coast and they can definitely be quite the handful, but they are also such a graceful sight in the sky.

    We see them in the parking lots here, too, and flying overhead. Living near a lot of wildlife, we can’t compost most household scraps as it attracts gulls, skunks, fishercats, and other aggressive critters and can actually be quite dangerous. But we do enjoy the grace and beauty of them from inside the safety of our fence.

  6. I remember a gull swooping down and snatching a sandwich from my hand when we were on holiday in Cornwall when I was about 7. I was torn between fear, anger and admiration. I do wish people wouldn’t feed the blighters.

  7. Wonderful series of shots. They do a marvelous job of telling a story. The final image has to be my favorite, with the mouth gaping beak and tongue frozen in an instant, while we can see the movement of the wings.

    Most of my experiences with gulls appear to be different from most of your other commenters. Where I am they are still for the most part wild (comes from living in a quiet, fairly undeveloped area without a lot of easy food access for them) and they are mostly just another interesting bird to watch. Even the wild ones though are greedy guts that try to steal or bully food from each other.

Leave a Reply

