This Post is Not Very Good

Why this post is ‘Not Good’? It bugs me, and the pun is intended.

I got a spammed comment on a Garden Walk Garden Talk post on Dragonflies from a photography site that stated, “This post is not very good. Do you know of any links that might have better work.” At first, I felt like writing back and saying, “I don’t care if you are a professional, you just try to capture these fast-moving little buggers without a tripod with a heavy freaking lens.”  But, knowing better, I refrained. Here are my second stringers from that photo shoot where that comment was supposed to be visible on GWGT.

Well, I know it is most probably a mass comment sent to many and really does not relate to my blog directly, but come on people, do you think anyone is going to approve a comment like this one? Or even respond since that is likely your intent? It did make me risk titling my post as such, knowing people may say, “What’s the point in wasting my time.”

It did get me thinking though about a post I read a couple of days ago. It was entitled Flickr Will Make You a Bad Photographer. It was posted by a professional photographer and I have to say, I agree to a point.

In fact, I participated in a meme recently and went to a few links that the comments were sickly sweet. Yes, some sites had exceptional work and amazing macro work, but a few had what was way less than mediocre. And on these sites I could not even leave a comment because I did not want to say anything less glowing than fellow commenters.

One comment was “Superb macro, simply amazing.” The shot was of…well I can not even tell you, but it was pretty bad and greatly out of focus. And this was not the intention I am sure.  I know I do not always post the best images but most are at least passible, or they are explained why they are not good like the blurry flying dragonflies. I usually have a point to make with a bad image.

Anyway, I will stop my rant and encourage you to see Brian’s post. He was brave enough to post the image that he thought did not deserve the accolades, along with the poster’s name. Yikes, that took some nerve. He has some wise words too, and like I mentioned, I agree with him. Here is his opening partial paragraph meant to be helpful.

“Flickr is the most popular image sharing site on the internet.  It started off great, but recently a disturbing trend has emerged among its’ users.  One of the best things you can get as a photographer, whether new or experienced, is good feedback and criticism.  Good or bad, it helps you see things you may not see yourself.”

His site has his gallery of work and you can make your own judgement on his abilities, but it was his observation that got my attention.

Plus he posted the comments left for the image, most of them from photographers listing themselves as pros. Boy, this guy really should have watched his posting because his professional website is linked to his blog.

In a way, I would not mind his constructive criticism on my second stringers. Like he says, it only makes your work stronger. But, my images are not on Flickr and I doubt he trolls the garden blogs.

34 thoughts on “This Post is Not Very Good

  1. Donna there are few photographers that can hold a candle to your work…you have a wonderful way of capturing the essence of a garden. Your macros are great because of the clear detail you provide and the lighting (the red dragonfly wings are incredible in detail). I point and click and hope they come out (OK I used to do this more than now). I have learned a lot from you and your photos, and I am always up for constructive criticism. Without it how can we ever get better and learn….

    • BTW after reading Brian’s post it is clear that many of those commenting are not knowledgeable enough about photography…that would be me and that is why I stay away from Flickr…not commenting on something I know little about…

      • That is why I don’t join the Flickr crowd either, with images or comments. I am not in most of their leagues. So why is every image comment on Flicker as Brian says? They are pros so you would think they would be more thoughtful on their comments.

    • Thank you Donna. Your words are very nice after the comment I just received on GWGT. It was legitimate too I think because it had a well know camera name in the email address. I can only hope they were trying to sell something and did not mean what they said on my post. When I comment, i always try to be encouraging and if I say an image is great or superb, I mean it. Usually, because it is an image, that if I took it, would be proud of, or at least, very pleased with it. But, adding my blog to memes, I have been finding people copy and paste the same comment of raving reviews every post they visit. You have to wonder if they even stop and see the posts. And, it happens here on the garden blogs too. I remember seeing it on GBBD posts, where one blogger did the very same thing, just throwing out the fishing line hoping for many visits. I know I copy and paste thank yous on Blotanical because you cannot keep up every single day. But the thanks is no less meaningful.

  2. Thanks for the link, and I agree criticism can be good, but to a point. There is no pleasing everybody… I have been surprised many times when my husband says a picture that I think is wonderful is to him pretty bad: I look more at the technical aspects while he is more concerned with composition. Maybe the colors are good, but the subject is blurry, or the sharpness and light are perfect, but the subject is not interesting…

    • It is true, beauty is in the eye of the beholder. Professional photographers see things much differently because they weigh the artistic and the technical aspects more than does an amateur. Where we might fight for a good image or just get lucky, it just falls out of their cameras neat and tidy. Your images are wonderful Masha and have a very professional look to them. I am more like your husband I think. I gravitate toward the artist qualities of lighting and composition first, technical is second, where they should really work in concert.

  3. I read Brian’s post and I think that one of the points that Brian lost about Flckr is that it’s a form of social networking. I looked at the photostream and profile of the person that he criticized and she notes that she is a self-taught amateur photographer. The comments she received are from people who have “pro” flickr accounts and are not necessarily professional photographers. Flickr is a form of connecting with a people who share the same interest, photography. And not necessarily a mechanism for gaining insight into one’s hobby of photography.

    • Good you looked her up. I am not into the social networking scene and never felt worthy of Flickr. What is a pro account? Nothing to do with being a pro? I visited a few sites and they all had professional business websites, I guess it was just coincidence. But Brian has a point, but not really on this girls image, which was not unlike many on gardening blogs. He should have seen the one I saw getting the high praise, he would have had a coronary. But, I still agree with him. People should be considerate, yet a little more honest in their assessment. The one blog I visited, I was literally speechless at how bad was the image they posted compared to the raving reviews. I was wondering if it was not an image posted purposefully to gage comments. It was so out of place to all the other posts in this meme.

  4. Honestly, most photography on garden blogs is amateurish, but that’s okay. They are gardening blogs, not photography blogs. There are some gardeners who are serious photographers, and their websites are visited as much for their pictures as for the written content. My blog tends to be more writing heavy. However, in an effort to improve my blog, I began trying to improve the quality of the images on the blog and I think it has certainly improved things.

    • I agree, I visit your blog for the writing, but your images have been very good as of late. Brian was not talking about a garden blogger even though the image was flowers, and like I mentioned, he probably would give me some constructive criticism and it would be most welcomed. I enjoy photography as a hobby and wonder now why my blog is visited now that you mentioned it. Hum….. 😀

  5. Oh, interesting. I see what he means, and I can see the endless praise thing applying to garden blogs, too–not just re: the photographs, but whole posts. But as GirlSprout said, some people are looking more for social interaction than for improvement in writing or photography or presentation, etc. Criticism isn’t really socially appropriate in those cases, any more than it would be when you get together for coffee. And sometimes the blogger or photographer is just celebrating a bloom or enjoying a gorgeous day and wants to share the enjoyment.

    On yet another hand, though, even social interaction is more meaningful when there’s some substance to it. Reading these meaty comments where the writers’ actual personalities have come out and where they’ve thought about your ideas is a lot more worthwhile than wading through a long string of “Oh, how nice.” “This post is not very good” is just plain gall, but in the long run, whitewashed, thoughtless compliments aren’t respectful, either, because they don’t engage with the photographer/blogger.

    • Very well put Stacy and showing a bit of both perspectives. I too think substance matters and I do see a conflict of time issue when there are so many blogs posts to see. I don’t think he meant actual criticism, but possible helpful hinting. If it is said nicely and in a way that is helpful, then it has lots of meaning. The reason i am not into the social scene is all the pettiness and flowery compliments. I see it on FB when people load images. They are just pointless pictures in many cases, yet the comments just reinforce more pointless images. And Brian noted that sort of when he mentioned how Flickr does not encourage betterment when every photo that is posted is outstanding. The question becomes, outstanding compared to what?

  6. I enjoyed this post and also the comments! Donna, I admire your photography very much. The red dragonfly is an example why! I always try to make a positive comment, and when I do so, I am sincere. Who am I to criticize another’s work? I am neither a professional landscaper nor photographer. I am, however, seriously critical of my own work, and I would be thrilled if a knowlageable professional gave me some tips!

    • I would be thrilled too! That is why I enter the GGW contest each month, but have become a bit disillusioned with it in some respect. They do not get that many entries that they could not make at least one comment regarding each submitted image. As an architect, I have been accustomed to criticism (although many times it was not constructive) because its main purpose is to make one work harder to get desired results. To learn from mistakes or to understand why something succeeded. It is like Brian said, we are not always aware to see things for ourselves. I think GGW would get more participants than they have been if they did do a followup on images that some people take lots of time to create. And I don’t mean post editing, I mean trial and error. I appreciate that they hold the contest and enjoy it each month to see how others perceive the challenge, but my only ‘gripe’ is that they leave some people out in the after discussions.

  7. Nice conversation and discussion. Constructive criticism should be just that. Constructive with well intentions. Every picture tells a story. I think that should probably be a gardeners bloggers mantra. Sometimes we add to many and dilute the significance of the real well done photos. I agree with Susan also. Everyone has a unique perspective.

    • I am one that probably adds too many photos (actually have had this criticism from a few) and I agree with you on that; and am very glad you mentioned that point. Images should tell a story and posts are Very short stories not novels. And that is an advantage of Flickr. You see an image, then you can go see more if you choose. WordPress has an option to only allow a featured image with some text, then you click for the rest of the post. I debated on using the ‘more’ feature because more posts can be viewed at a time. You can put the more tag anywhere you choose in a post, but in reality, how many click for the whole post? Yes everyone has a unique perspective, but that allows for bad to be on the same level as good in just about everything besides just how you feel about a photo. I was not referring to garden blogs with any of my commentary, the whole discussion stemmed around photography blogs where you expect the quality to be a bit above average. The quality of the image was not in question, it actually was on how it was commented. Susan is right that many garden blog photos are average and should not be compared to photo blogs, but again the meme was a photo blog, not a garden blog.

  8. Not being insincere when I say that most of us can’t hold a candle to you Donna but have to agree with Brian’s comment – the post is not very good, it’s excellent, Enjoy your writing style as well as the excellence of so many of your images. I never bother with Flickr as I’m no great shot and still at the stage of being my own critic (who needs outsiders to tell us when are images are blurry and poorly composed!). Besides yours was a post on darting dragonflies not a still life studio portrait. You should see the junk comments I get – some are quite funny and will save for a rainy day post.
    p.s. love the header

    • Thank you immensely Laura. Brian never comment or visited my blog, but I wish he would. It was actually a woman that wrote the comment left for GWGT from a site with a web address, meanwoman.famoushighendcamera.com/arbitraryphotography. Just substitute one of the four most well known cameras for highendcamera and now you see why I was pouting. I wrote this post all grumpy and did it in less than fifteen minutes, photos included, and that never happens. Photos hit the edit page as fast as I could move the stylus. I was waiting for the mass mailing to hit again or on GA and it did not, so it may have been left not as spam, just ended there because of the web address.

  9. I think there is a time and place for constructive criticism. Every time is not always an opportunity to criticize. If the intention is to benefit the subject or the subject’s product with criticism, then the critic has a great responsibilityto be objective, fair, informative, and encouraging–if at all possible. I am not that familiar with Flicker, but I can see how unwarranted positive feedback could be as damaging as bad criticism. The best criticism is from a professional and solicited. Your photos are consistently amazing. I am not a professional, nor do I wish to offer criticism, but I so enjoy your photography for its clarity, beauty, composition, and daring.

    • Good reply. I agree a professional should offer constructive criticism. They can always find one thing positive then add something helpful. But when an image is just so poor, it is better to say nothing than something of no real value. I would welcome any constructive criticism. It has been so long that I was taking any photography courses in college, and I am just getting back into photography again. I never stopped photographing, but it was done for recording and documenting purpose, so it was a point and shoot kind of image. Just record the facts, that is all. As a new architect. I was the one going to job sites and looking for things to document. No skill needed there.

  10. Hi Donna, yes beauty is always in the eye of the beholder, and beholders have different standards. I love comments and even if they are criticizing i still think of them as challenges. But that one who commented on you might not even had really looked at the photos, because they just want to put their links. We should just ignore them. But i have a friend from abroad who told me that my photos are all beautiful to those who dont have a camera! That was always in my mind, and i believe it is true. Some of my friends always say my photos are good even if i know the particular shot is not, and i believe they are telling me the truth because that depends on our individual standards as well. hahaha. Never mind, as long as we are happy with what we are doing. Just like in our recent photo trip, our 2 companions are professionals so i am a bit embarrassed to post my photos. On 2nd thoughts, my blogger friends are not all professional photographers, so what the heck! Maybe the pros will not even look at my shots, at least i’ve sincerely shared them.

    • Looking at criticism as a challenge can only make you better at what was being criticized. I rethought the why of the nasty comment and since it did not reappear, like a typical spammed comment and since it was from a legitimate site, it must not have been a typical spam. They were photo blogs I was at, so you kinda think the work would be a little better. That is why I don’t add photos because I am not quite to their level, even the ones not quite as good. I did participate in a meme though. I did not get one hit from the blog that I know of either.

  11. This echoes a question I often ask myself – why are some blogs popular and others not? In some cases, at the ends of the spectrum, it’s obvious; they are either very, very, very good or astonishingly boring. But for those of us in the middle (I consider myself to be in the mixed middle) it’s bewildering. There are blogs I like where few others comment (I feel sad about this) – and others where there are lists and lists of contributors and admirers and I can’t work out why. I’ve tried – and failed! Sometimes it’s not that they don’t warrant it, it’s that others which warrant it equally don’t get it. With gardening blogs, there is a convention that bloggers reply to comments. With photographic blogs, this is less often the case and the commenter is often doing little more than fishing for a return visit – hence the flattery. More constructive criticism would be interesting (and sometimes appreciated) on photographic sites (though it would get a bit heavy if everyone tipped in!) Clearly there are gardening blogs which attract readers in the way a glossy magazine would – one is simply invited to gaze and admire. But with most gardening blogs, the quality of the pictures is beside the point. As long as those looking at the image can work out enough of it that it adds value to the text, the blogger has reason to put it there. On the other hand, I think more active discussion of the points raised in gardening posts or about the plants illustrated would liven things up considerably. Unwarranted or unhelpful criticism may be out of place but a little less gushing might make the garden blog world a more comfortable place to explore!

    • Excellent response, Esther. Your writing is always well thought out and perfectly worded. I admire those that write and engage the reader with humor and important information. You brought up a point that has made me ponder it as well. GA is such a blog I would consider it at the end that is less read. It gets comments and does well on Blotanical, but if you saw the daily stats bar graph, you would not want to be riding in the car driving along that road filled with gaping pot holes, more like life-ending craters.

      I changed the the blog three different times as to the content it contains to see if it draws more garden blog readers. But then, I kinda just gave up trying to cater to a specific crowd offering different, but related material, trying to make a special and unique niche for the blog. It then started to be just like GWGT in many respects, a clone so to speak, and readership increased a bit. I added tutorials and expanded readership outside the forum. I think GA is an example of the type of blogs you are questioning because you can see how much I have questioned its worth. I even question the thought put into it at times. I find thought provoking posts don’t do nearly as well as those just posting a few pretty pictures, and not just on this blog alone. Pretty pictures, even those on Wordless Wednesday seem to really generate traffic around blogland.

      I often visit blogs that are a quick read or a picture or two long. It is relaxing to numb the mind some days. But like you, there are some out there that really should be read every time a post is made. Filled with value and interest, creativity and originality.

      And what amazes me most is, how many bloggers visit and never comment. I see this only on GWGT. Some from established and well read sites. Or those same sites, that used to come religiously and disappeared forever, bloggers with whom I tried to emulate the quality of their work, tried to reach up to their levels. Bloggers that inspired me. They are still out there, just not for my own blog, gone and never to return. You question, what changed? As your own blog gets better, many have disappeared.

      Your last couple of sentences are right on. They summarize all the points well. But the initial observation you put forth first still lacks an answer. Why some blogs and not others. I look at the boring blogs and really wonder, those lacking even personality, and question why the hoards of comments. But, it is a ‘to each our own’ kind of thing I guess. Appeal is a hard thing to gage. Boring, is not boring to some.

  12. I’ve never been a Flickr fan, and just don’t go there, except occasionally to see an image a friend has posted. I agree, constructive criticism is key to improving ones own photography skills, but the subjects aren’t always cooperative. I’ve had the trouble occasionally where an opportunity has presented itself in the garden. A hawk dropping in right in front of me. A butterfly I’ve never seen before. However, my camera settings are all wrong because I’d just been shooting something else, standing still, in different light. Sometimes you have to take a shot when you get it, especially if it’s for documentary purposes (or proof of what you’ve just seen). I try, on most occasions not to post those images though…which is why I’ve never done a dragonfly post 😉 Fast little boogers, that love to watch me run around after them, and trip over my own two feet, tumbling down the hill, trying to catch a shot. As for comment trolls, that’s what the ‘mark as spam’ button is for 😉

    • I know what you mean. It always is happening to me with birds of prey. They come out of nowhere and leave just as fast. No time to stop down the camera. I too avoid posting them. Most of the time I don’t even hit the shutter release. I swear, if there was a video of me chasing around butterflies at the farm, I would go into hiding. 😀

  13. What a thought provoking post Donna. First some info: The “pro” accounts on Flickr give you unlimited uploads and allow higher quality upload than the standard free account. I have one, I use Flickr to share non gardening photos with friends, and to backup photos. I’ve not ever really got in to using it to network, and I have no doubt that a lot of the comments are as banal and unhelpful as those in Brian’s post, but I have friends who, while not pro photographers are very serious amateurs and who are in groups, within which the culture is one of constructive criticism. Indeed, my brother-in-law recommended I join one or two as a way to improve my own photography, but I haven’t been brave enough yet. Having a Flickr pro account just means you were prepared to pay for the facility.

    As to comments – such a minefield. I know very few people in the blogosphere that I would feel comfortable enough to offer critique to. I am thrilled when people – including yourself – who post what I consider to be high quality photos comment on the quality of the photos I post, because it means more than if someone who is just an average photographer says a similar thing. Actually my greater frustration is with the garden side of critique. I find it hard to get critical comments that would help me create a better garden. I enjoy the supportiveness, friendliness, and genrosity of garden bloggers. I also enjoy learning about new plants or plant combinations, or more about an area of the world I know nothing of. But with one or two exceptions I find it hard to get genuine constructive critical feedback. But there again I fight shy of offering this myself, so should not be surprised! I also remember from my time as a manager of creative and highly able people that constructive feedback is hard to offer in such a way as to be received as constructive. Rats, I am rambling, but you made me think a lot again about something I keep coming back to when I think about blogging, and my own comments on people’s posts.

    Thank you for a classy post with some stunning – to me – images. I lack the skill and equipment to get the clear, well lit and nicely composed shots you regularly capture and share, but you inspire me to keep trying.

  14. I am glad you cleared that up on the pro account. GirlSprout noted it but did not really say what it was. Like I mentioned, all the sites I visited had professional websites like Brian. I guess it was coincidence. I wanted to see what the commenters had to show. Brian really perked my interest on these people’s abilities since they were so free with praise. I did not leave any comments though, even though there was some gorgeously done work. After agreeing with Brian, I did not want a flurry criticism to hit my blog. 😀

    It is harder to comment on a garden design, because it is often much different than a structured landscape design which likely follows design principles. Many gardens have that artist eye, like Monet’s garden for instance, yet evolve and grow over time becoming a garden to transcend all others in a certain respect. I have never visited Monet’s garden and only viewed by image, but I have it in my head that it is one to aspire too and one the is timeless.

    I like when you comment because I feel you have the eye for design and a critical compositional look at art and photography, and anytime you want, you can offer me advise. Like Brian said, we ‘don’t always see things for ourselves’; and I will expand on his remark, that it includes good things too. Sometimes we succeed and don’t know why. The why is important, because if we don’t see it, we are unlikely to do it again. LIke the 1/3 rule in photography. How many don’t know about it, but accidentally compose and frame an image as such, stand back and think that is a good shot, but it is off center. Hum… I wonder why I like it! Or the play of darks and lights (positive and negative space). It can be a fantastic shot, and people my not realize why. That is learning and I think it is wonderful if people mention principals in comments. You can see I am a rambler too. 😀

  15. I too have/had(not up to date with renewals sometimes) a pro account with Flickr. Like Janet, it is mostly used for storage or for posting a link on a forum that doesn’t offer picture storage.

    I’ll have to plead guilty to praising less than praise-worthy work in the past. Usually as a return if they praised mine. I quickly realized that it wasn’t doing anyone any good. So now, if I did click on a link and I don’t have anything contributive or complimentary to say, I don’t comment.

    Despite this, I still feel like my comments are insincere or lacking even if they really aren’t. How many different ways can someone say “nice shot”, “great image” or “fantastic capture”? Or even “enjoyed your post”, “you have a wonderful garden”, etc? Because, especially with garden blogs, it usually is the same garden over and over again. Same plants last year, blooming again this year. Yet, even if I really enjoy a post I read and I really think that a garden is wonderful, the comments sound repetitive no matter if they are unfeigned.

    As for constructive criticism, I refrain from commenting on the photography or writing of others. I don’t think I’m in a position to do so since I know little about technical aspects of both as you can see from my blog. I don’t even use an SLR but just a P&S camera. As for other blogs, I do know what I like so I’ll keep coming back. Your blogs, your writing, your images, I really like. Obviously there are a lot of others who feel the same way. Your commenter should have just kept her comment to herself and expended her energy going through a search engine instead.

    • Thanks Bom. You brought up a good point that no one else did too. You are right that bloggers say exactly the phrases you mentioned, myself included. And your point about seeing the same gardens over and over a big ABSOLUTELY RIGHT on that one too, my own garden included. Unless you have 10 to 20 acre estates, like some of my clients, there is little new to show, just maybe something else of interest to note. I am lucky to have the 300 acre farm to wander around. And all the garden walks I either help run or go visit. Plus the parks around the Falls. This way I can keep my professional work separate which is really important I think. Plus try to add some new and fresh material to the blog without my own garden being the center of attention. Measured in square feet, that quickly become repetitive and boring.

      Your comment on visiting without leaving a comment is an eye opener too. If a post gets 300 views, but only gets 30 comments, you have to wonder why so few had something to say. I am going to make a greater effort to at least say something from now on. One blogger always leaves even just one word, which lets others know he came. I may rethink that and also not just say the standard few phrases. And if something is really nice, add why I think it was successful. I know I am not a professional photographer, so I do limit my commentary to the composition aspect or even the editing. My design background and training gives me some credibility in those areas at least. I am with you too on blogs I visit often. But have you noticed ones that you visit, do they visit your blog back? I noticed a big drop off of some of the established blogs visiting GWGT. Some I never miss the posts. I guess things change.

      • With regard to comments, it isn’t so easy with garden blogs. I personally try not to repeat previous comments or similar ones but it can’t be helped. There can’t be too much discussion about how beautifully red a rose is. If no one has commented yet, then I’ll leave a comment. If over x number of people have already said “beautiful flower”, do I still need to reaffirm it? Maybe your point to make an effort is valid. The blogger might check and see that I’ve visited but not commented and assume I don’t like the flower. Then again, my problem is that by the time my comment comes around, it sounds, like I said, repetitive. Also, a lot of the blogs I follow are from temperate climates. So I take pleasure in reading about plants I can’t have and looking at the layout of gardens that are so different from what I see on a day to day basis. However, other than the usual compliment, there isn’t much for me to say in way of contribution precisely because these are plants I will never tend or gardens I will never have.

        As for stats, I don’t really bother with page views but look at unique visits. Seems like a more reliable number. There are quite a number of blogs that don’t visit me back. 😀 Mostly because we don’t have the same styles. It is highly likely that after the first few visits, they realize that they don’t like the style of my blog. Whereas I still enjoy reading their blogs, regardless of style difference, and come back for more. I’ve said it before, I’m not flower-focused but I do appreciate the beauty of flowers so I still enjoy reading about them. Others may not care for my kind of plants at all and stop visiting my blog altogether. At least I think that is why. Others may just be playing a stats game, which I understand non-gardening blogs do so I can see no reason why some garden blogs wouldn’t do the same thing. That said, it certainly helps if there is reciprocity even if not on a regular basis otherwise it feels like you’re commenting to a wall. Hahaha.

        • It was what you mentioned in your previous comment that got me thinking about they way I comment on blogs. I really enjoy posts where they make you think and get a conversation going. Not many garden bloggers take on controversial topics, except maybe GGW and Garden Rant. I find I really reply on those blogs, not to join the controversy, but because they always inspire me to think a little more than I do on many other blogs. But, then again, why should I not find more to say on other blogs too. I really see your point on the nice red rose comment. Really, it is not like the author does not know that it is a beautiful image, especially after being told umpteen times. I got more conscious of visiting when I started using my sidebar more to blog hop. Then I leave a trail showing I may have stopped to read and not commented. With Blotanical, you can pop in anonymously and no one knows if you choose not to comment. I don’t worry about stats either really. Like you said on the non-gardening blogs, especially the design and shelter blogs, they are very numbers conscious. I have friends on the shelter blogs getting 2000 hits a day. GA does not get that in a month.

          I think you have some of the most unusual plants on your blog, plus the knowledge about them. I find that so interesting because I have to see them only at the botanical gardens and you grow them yourself. As for reciprocity, that is inevitable with so many blogs out there and new ones being courted daily. There just is not the time. That is why I don’t court new blogs or mentor them. Just not enough time for all that. I usually find new blogs when they visit mine.

          • 2000?!?!!! I don’t even get those numbers in a quarter. Ah, now I’ll go have to look up shelter blogs to see what the fuss is about.

          • Bom, I can list some doing better than that. As an architect, I have designed some commercial interiors, so I do keep up on interior design. But residential is where the high numbers reside. Try http://cotedetexas.blogspot.com and her sister site, http://skirtedroundtable.blogspot.com/. Loads of eye candy and they talk design via a podcast. Lots of viewers on these sites. Check out Joni’s blogroll for big name bloggers in this circle, and the big followings that they get too.

Leave a Reply

