My Daylilies

Nothing creative today, but have a look at the daylilies residing at 664. I posted Garden Extraordinaire on Garden Walk Garden Talk, and showed you a daylily grower’s remarkable garden, teeming with daylilies. I mentioned this as an upcoming post, so let’s take a look.

Many varieties are found in my garden and all seem to be doing well.

None of my daylilies were purchased for this garden, so sorry I did not mention the names.

Some of the yellows are the stalwart Stella’s, Happy Returns and bright red/yellow,Twice as Nice.

All came from the tearing out of old gardens to make way for new, fresh designs.

Commercial clients do this often, about every five to seven years. I acquire many new plants to either put in my garden, or send off to new and loving homes. Sometimes I rehabilitate the plants and they make their way back to other commercial gardens.

So since I showed you some very pretty and more unusual varieties on GWGT, here is what is living in my garden.

And, by the way, it is so darn hot and humid here in Niagara Falls, that the daylily flowers do not even last the entire day. They are jumping to their deaths right in front of my eyes. I had to be quick with the camera because if I turned around, some would be curling and wincing. But of all the blooms here, they are the best little troopers, looking fresh and happy, even for a very short time.

Here is a wincer below. An hour from now, it will be toast.

The bed the daylilies are in below is three foot six wide and it widens to four foot six.

I partner them with a variety of other plants, like the Veronica above and cleome below, but they also live in the worst conditions on my property. The daylily below is an example living in a hot and dry, 18 inch wide bed below. The plants actually extend from the bed quite a bit as you will see two images below. They are planted in mulch and gravel, the best I could do for them.  The caryopteris grows rather large, but I can maintain the height and width if I choose. This particular bed changes the entire season, starting with tulips. The caryopteris finishes up the season with bees and blue.

The daylilies are fine in this bed, but do drop flowers faster than those in better conditioned and larger beds. 

It has been mentioned before that I have a large garden by a few bloggers. I have a tiny space in my rear garden, it is just the angle of the shots that make it seem larger. I do pack in the plants.  The center of the rear garden is a raised bed with only 3 foot 6 inches of grass circling it. You don’t come to 664 to see the grass, but it makes a nice pathway and workspace.

Joining Blogging from Bolivia Macro Friday.

Joining Tootsie Time, Fertilizer Friday

15 thoughts on “My Daylilies

  1. I love the way you cram so many plants into the space you have Donna. I’ve occasionally wondered what happens to the plants from gardens that are being re-done, I guess now I know! Much better than flinging them out. I love those first two photographs in particular, the rich colours sing out so well against the darker background.

  2. Donna these are lovely and so bright under the heat…yesterday it was 101 here and boy are mine still holding their own…I love the garden along the fence!! And now another aspect of you is revealed…the plant rehabilitator… 🙂

  3. I’ve just ordered 6 different kinds of day lilies (just one of each kind, and I have no intention of keeping track of their names…) and that makes me thrilled to see what they might eventually look like in a real garden. Not specimen plants for solitary pictures, but intermingled with other plants and flowers against a backdrop of fences, hedges and whatever else happens to be in the garden. I find that much prettier than the museum-like images you see on nursery websites.

  4. Donna, I am loving your lilies. Mine have not made their appearance yet this year, still hiding from the rain! Yours are beautiful and the combination of the orange, red and purple color pallet is delicious! Also, I am so in love with your last garden, the one next to the drive with the hanging baskets on the fence. What a wonderful use of space, it looks gorgeous. Even the smallest spaces can make a beautiful impact…well done =)

  5. Your daylilies are beautiful. One can never have to many I always say. LOL! Your bed along the fence is so pretty. Beautiful posting.

  6. Your daylilies are wonderful. I have very few, and they will be moved soon as they are now in too much shade. I love the combination with the veronica!

  7. Gorgeous day lilies. They look terrific against the wooden fence. They must be thanking you for the rehabilitation. Pity those blooms do not last long under the hot sun. Perhaps they will do better in a vase indoors. Fyi, my other blog has just been accepted in Blotanical.

  8. Those lilies we see here are imported because our temps are too high. I wonder if there are varieties which can fit our conditions. Even if you did not plant them, they are still healthy and beautiful

  9. I thank you so much for linking in this week. It is an honor to host Friday’s Flaunt and meet new friends and visit the regulars (who are like old friends) who share. I am always excited to tour each post and see the different flowers/ projects and garden art that everyone flaunts. It is a pleasure to tour and see all the gorgeous blooms…and I appreciate each and every link and comment! I hope you will link in again soon!
    (¯`v´¯)
    `*.¸.*´Glenda/Tootsie
    ¸.•´¸.•*¨) ¸.•*¨)
    (¸.•´ (¸.•´ .•´ ¸¸.•¨¯`•.

  10. Really, your flowers are gorgeous! But I laughed at the image of your daylilies jumping to their death. Poor plants have my deepest sympathy. I hope cooler weather is on your way. There is no hope for us for at least six weeks.

Leave a Reply

